Numerous studies demonstrate that grains high in gluten damage your intestinal lining. Gluten can cause long-term harm to your small intestine, which may result in nutritional deficiencies. If you have celiac disease, gluten intolerance is not just an inconvenience – it can be debilitating. In such cases, you should avoid any foods containing gluten.
Diet is still the most effective protocol and preventative measure. If you want to help your body to cure autoimmune illness, stay away from ALL grains, especially ones that contain gluten. Once your gut is healthy, you can add healthy grains that have been fermented or sprouted. Gluten may be present as an ingredient in barley malt, chicken broth, malt vinegar, some salad dressings, veggie burgers (if not specified gluten-free), and soy sauce.
Products labeled wheat-free are not necessarily gluten-free. They may still contain spelt (a form of wheat), rye, or barley-based ingredients that are not gluten-free (GF). To confirm if something is gluten-free, be sure to refer to the product’s ingredient list.
Avoid These Foods if You Have Gluten Sensitivity
Foods That May Contain Hidden Gluten
- Energy bars/granola bars
- French fries – be careful of batter containing wheat flour or cross-contamination from fryers
- Potato chips – some potato chip seasonings may contain malt vinegar or wheat starch
- Processed lunch meats
- Candy and candy bars
- Soup – pay special attention to cream-based soups, which have flour as a thickener. Many soups also contain barley
- Multi-grain or “artisan” tortilla chips or tortillas that are not entirely corn-based may contain a wheat-based ingredient
- Salad dressings and marinades – may contain malt vinegar, soy sauce, flour
- Starch or dextrin if found on a meat or poultry product could be from any grain, including wheat
- Brown rice syrup – may be made with barley enzymes
- Meat substitutes made with seitan (wheat gluten) such as vegetarian burgers, vegetarian sausage, imitation bacon, imitation seafood (Note: tofu is gluten-free, but be cautious of soy sauce marinades and cross-contamination when eating out, especially when the tofu is fried)
- Soy sauce (though tamari made without wheat is gluten-free)
- Self-basting poultry
- Pre-seasoned meats
- Cheesecake filling – some recipes include wheat flour
- Eggs served at restaurants – some restaurants put pancake batter in their scrambled eggs and omelets, but on their own, eggs are naturally gluten-free